New Sincerity?

Post modernism is so last season. what’s this? new sincerity? we are in an era where we embrace nonsense WITHOUT a hint of irony… perhaps quirky at its best? As we left the echoplex, I was trying to sum up the bands we saw and my friend Derrick suggested I look up “new sincerity”.   So yah, I think we can throw Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head in that pile.   Their DIY sequined adorned outfits were very apropos…. I’m sure they hate this but it’s hard not to compare them to MGMT.  I was generally impressed despite the fact I got a little uncomfortable watching glistening young men in sleeveless shirts and short shorts, singing with their uncracked voices.  CSS was amazing as expected.  Lovefoxx wore a catsuit which is always hot in my book simply cuz it’s BALLSY.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

4 thoughts on “New Sincerity?

  1. “I was generally impressed despite the fact I got a little uncomfortable watching glistening young men in sleeveless shirts and short shorts, singing with their uncracked voices.”

    Were you at a different Echoplex than the rest of the world? Or perhaps your meds cocktail is out of balance again?

    EVERYONE in NPSH wore pants, even Claire.. (gasp) although hers were tights.. Costumes are not DIY, FYI. I hear they were designed by some “name” designer because he is so into the group.

    Hopefully you have returned from that alternate reality by now!

  2. A couple years back, I was 26 and I went on a date with a cute boy whom i knew had to be a little too young for me.. but he had a brit accent so sue me. We went to a +18 event and they checked his ID and he said he didn’t bring it even though i kinda saw something resembling an ID in his wallet earlier… it turned out he was 16.

    My discomfort comes from the need to suppress my inner cougar. I might not know NPSH as well as you do, but as that one person who yelled out “how old ARE you?” at the end of their set, I can tell they are pretty young (and talented). As I recall, Luke was wearing shorts. They were black and had zippers on them. I use the term DIY loosely, meaning their outfits were not store bought but custom made.

    As for the meds and alternate reality… I can only take as much as my doctor prescribes. I had fun at the show! Meds or no meds! Sounds like you did too!

Leave a Reply

